Snapchatters around the world today will be excited, as a major update to Snapchat is set to bring a completely new take on the way people use the application.
Since its release, the main idea behind Snapchat was that one person would snap a photo, place a self-destruction timer on the photo, and then send it out to friends. Once the photo was viewed for the selected amount of time, it would then be deleted from Snapchat’s servers, never to be seen again.
Today, Snapchat introduces “Chat,” not just for real time conversations, but also for face-to-face conversations with your friends.
If both parties are “Here,” then you can swipe on their name, allowing you two to chat as you would in any other chatting application. The only difference is that when both of you leave, the conversation is deleted. If you need to save any of the information from the chat, just snap a screenshot. In addition, if both parties are inside the chat, then you can start up a live face-to-face video chat. For an app that was thought to be just a sexting app for teens, this is a pretty big step.
The update is expected to be rolling out to users today through Google Play.