Droid Life Logo MarkPodcastDealsContactNewsletter Sign-UpNew User GuideSearchArrowSwipe ArrowEnvelopeClose

AT&T Introduces Rollover Data for Mobile Share Value Plans

Less than a month after T-Mobile made Uncarrier 8.0 moves that included Data Stash, a plan feature that we referred to as “Rollover for data,” AT&T has decided it wants in on the idea as well. This morning, AT&T announced Rollover Data. 

Of course, AT&T’s works a bit differently than T-Mobile’s Data Stash.

With AT&T’s Rollover Data, all Mobile Share Value plan customers will automatically be enrolled in the program, with no sign-up or additional cost required. If part of your data plan goes unused in a month, it rolls over to the next month. Those are the similarities.

AT&T’s Rollover Data differs in that you have to use your rolled over data within the next billing cycle or it disappears forever. For example, if you have a 15GB plan and use only 10GB this month, you will have 20GB to use next month. But that unused data from this month that is available next month, isn’t available to be used two months out. One month is all your unused data lasts before AT&T wipes it away. Make sense?

T-Mobile lets you stash data that is good for up to a year.

On January 25, AT&T will automatically enroll new and current Mobile Share Value plan customers in Rollover Data.

Here is how it all works, according to AT&T:

  • All levels of AT&T Mobile Share Value plan customers automatically receive the Rollover Data feature – no signing up, no additional cost.
  • Rollover Data can be shared with everyone on the same Mobile Share Value plan.
  • If you do not use your full allotment of plan data in a given month, the extra amount automatically rolls over and is available to be used within the next month.
  • Within a given month, you will use your plan allotment first, before you begin using your Rollover Data. Unused Rollover Data does not carry over.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDM7bKB1TZg

Via:  ATT [FAQ]

Category

Tags