With the update, available for Android and iOS, users can share their real-time position on a map with a group of people or an individual person. This can come in handy when someone needs to know where you are or how much longer you’ll take to arrive at a destination (ETA).
Unlike Hangouts, which has a somewhat similar location sharing feature (but no real-time tracking), users can continue sharing their location for a select period of time. This can allow everyone to keep track of you while you make your way somewhere.
How It Works
- With today’s update, you’ll see a map of your current location and the option to tap a blue bar to share your Live Location.
- For Android, tap the Location icon or tap the More icon and then select Location.
- You’ll see a map of your current location and the option to tap a blue bar to share your Live Location for 60 minutes. Just like on iOS, you’ll have the option to stop sharing your Live Location by tapping Stop Sharing, and you’ll see how much longer you’re sharing your Live Location for via a small count down clock in the lower right hand corner of the map.
- You’ll be able to see an estimate of how long it would take to get to others’ locations by car. (The ETA is seen by the person with whom the location is shared.)
- You can stop sharing your Live Location at any time; just tap Stop Sharing.
- A small clock in the lower right hand corner of the map will also let you know how much longer you’re sharing your location for.
While this feature is neat for Google Maps and Messenger, just make sure you are aware of when this feature is enabled and who you are sharing your location with. We don’t want any stranger danger taking place.
This update is available today for both iOS and Android.