Droid Life Logo MarkPodcastDealsContactNewsletter Sign-UpNew User GuideSearchArrowSwipe ArrowEnvelopeCloseComment

Coming Soon: Auto Delete Your Google Location History and Activity Data

Manually going into your Google account and managing location history and activity data is already doable, though, it’s a hassle. Announced this week, Google is soon offering an auto delete function for all of this information, allowing you to remove data automatically after 3 months or 18 months.

You probably already know this, but Google tracks everything you do. It records all of your web and mobile phone activity, then places that into a folder inside of your Google account. This information is used to, “give you more personalized experiences, like faster searches and more helpful app and content recommendations.”

If you’re a privacy advocate and don’t want this data sticking around forever, but still want a curated experience while using a Google account, this new feature should be good for that.

Google says these controls will be available in the coming weeks.

// Google

Category

Tag

Collapse Show Comments