Droid Life Logo MarkPodcastDealsContactNewsletter Sign-UpNew User GuideSearchArrowSwipe ArrowEnvelopeClose

Incredible 2 Owners Receiving Text Messages from VZWNMN? Here is How to Stop Them

Some time in the last few months, Verizon introduced a new free feature called “Sync and Connect” that allows smartphone users to view an all-in-one inbox online of all their email accounts as well as their contacts.   It’s almost like a direct copy of Backup Assistant (which we all hate), except it also includes access to your emails through MyVerizon.  Basically what you are doing with this service, is giving Verizon control over your email and contacts rather than letting Google, Hotmail or Yahoo handle it.  For those of us that like to be in control of everything on our phones, this is definitely not something that we would want to opt-in to.  

Update:  It looks like Samsung Stratosphere owners are the new target. Instructions for them can be found here.

We’re hearing from a number of readers (mostly Incredible 2 owners) that this service has either been turned on without their knowledge or they accepted it without knowing exactly what it does.  So, what’s the problem you ask?  Well, the service is notifying people with a Verizon text from VZWNMN (6250) every time this MyVerizon all-in-one email inbox receives a new email.  You can attempt to add the number to your blacklist text app and block it, but then you really aren’t solving the problem and instead are just masking it.  It’s annoying to say the least, but from what we can gather, most people are more frustrated with the fact that this service has been mysteriously turned on than anything.

So here is what you can do to get rid of it:

1.  Login to your Verizon account.
2.  Click on “Account” at the top and then “Change Features” from the bottom right.
3.  Select the device you would like to remove the service from.
4.  Then scroll down until you find “Contact Management” and click “Remove.”

*Note – If you aren’t able to remove the feature from within your MyVerizon account, you’ll need to call *611 and have a customer service rep do it from their end.  They may not know exactly what it is at first, since this feature came out of no where, but just remind them that it’ll be listed as free feature and that you need to them to take it off of your account.

It seems like this issue should be on other devices, but we’re really hearing about it from our friends with DROID Incredible 2s.  Let us know if this has helped!

Cheers Alex and everyone else!

Categories

Tags