Launched as a place for groups to share content, including links to stuff online, documents or even YouTube videos, both the app and web client will become read-only on March 3. That means you won’t be able to open up a new Space or add new content to existing Spaces, plus new members won’t be able to join.
Here is what’s posted to Google’s support page, detailing the closure.
A few important details:
Spaces will be read-only on March 3rd: This means you can’t create new spaces, posts or comments. Also, new invitations can’t be sent, and new members can’t be added to spaces.
Between now and April 17th, you can:
- See, save, print, and delete your content.
- Delete any spaces you created, leave any spaces you joined, and remove people from your spaces.
- Report abuse in Spaces, and block other Spaces users.
After April 17th, 2017: Spaces and their content will be deleted.
Our goal with Spaces was to create a better small-group sharing experience, and we’ll use what we’ve learned to improve other Google products and services. Thanks again for your support.
The Spaces team
RIP, Google Spaces.